Roasted Cauliflower!

25 Jun

I didn’t eat cauliflower for almost 30 years.  No, seriously, I wouldn’t touch the stuff.  It just smelled so bad.  I couldn’t bring myself to actually ingest the source of that stink.

Of course I’d only ever smelled seriously overcooked cauliflower, or the raw stuff.  But we happened to get some in our CSA box a couple of months ago and I thought I’d give it a shot.  I figured that roasting it would be mild and tasty.  And I am kicking myself now for waiting so long!

This is a seriously easy recipe, basically foolproof, and ridiculously addictive.  My husband and I couldn’t stop eating it this weekend, straight out of the pan!

Elisa’s Roasted Cauliflower

  • 1 large head of cauliflower
  • 2-4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2-3 tsp salt
  • 2-3 tsp ground black pepper
  • 3-4 tbsp good olive oil
Prepare the cauliflower by separating the “curds” from the stems.  I like to get as much of the cauliflower into tiny bits as I can, thereby promoting the crispy roastiness of the dish.  But you can separate it into larger “florets” too.  Don’t toss the stems – they taste beautiful and mild – just cut them up so that they’re roughly the same size as the rest of your pieces.  Add all of your pieces to an extra large bowl (so that you have room for tossing) with your chopped garlic, salt, pepper, and oil.  Toss to thoroughly combine and coat.  Spread in a thin layer on the bottom of a cookie sheet (I had to use three separate cookie sheets to fit everything in single layers).  Bake at 425 degrees for 20-30 minutes or until golden brown.  Try to resist.
Roasted Cauliflower!

Roasted Cauliflower! Remind me to get a plain white plate for photo taking so that my posts don't look so dark!!!

Leave a Reply

