Butternut Squash Lasagna

19 Nov

So I’m just going to put this out there: this is NOT my own original recipe!  It came to me by way of my good friend Jennie at Spontaneous Truth.  She adapted it from You’ve Got Supper.  I adapted it from her!

When I saw this recipe on her blog, I knew I had to make it.  I adore butternut squash, but it’s really rare that I can spend hours and hours making ravioli.  What a great idea to make a lasagna instead!

You’ll see a few differences in my recipe right away – for starters, I only made a half recipe (but seriously it was still 6 whole servings!!!).  Oh yeah – and I made mine in a square baking dish instead of a skillet (if you read the comments on Jennie’s site you’ll see my skillet is old and needs cleaning!).  And of course there’s my inadvertent mistake – I actually read the recipe over before starting but somehow had in my head that I needed to roast and puree the squash.  When I started putting the lasagna together I realized I was supposed to slice it!  Lastly, I adore nutmeg + butternut squash together.  Like, LOVE it.  So I had to add some!

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Adapted from Spontaneous Truth

  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 pound sweet Italian sausage, casings removed
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup parmeggiano-reggiano cheese
  • 1 tbsp dry parsley (mostly because my plant outside has very few leaves left – I’d use 2 tbsp fresh parsley)
  • 1 tbsp fresh sage, cut fine (um, yes this is double the original recipe.  I love sage + butternut squash too!)
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 5 cooked lasagna noodles
  • 1 medium-small (1 1/2 – 2 lb) butternut squash, halved, roasted, and pureed

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

In a small skillet, cook onions in olive oil over medium heat until translucent.  Add garlic and cook until softened.  Add sausage and cook until lightly browned (yes these are slightly different instructions than Jennie’s, if you’re checking!).  Remove from heat.

In a small saucepan, melt butter over medium heat.  Add flour and cook for 1 minute.  Whisk in milk and cook for 10 minutes or until thickened.  Remove from heat.  Add cheese, nutmeg, sage, parsley, and pepper.

Assemble the lasagna: start with the sauce and build like so: sauce, noodles, squash puree, sausage, sauce, noodles, squash puree, sausage, noodles, and end with sauce.  Bake for 45 minutes or until the top of the lasagna is beautifully golden brown.  Remove it from the oven.

Now here’s the hard part: leave the lasagna alone for about 15 minutes.  I don’t blame you if you can’t.  This is my least favorite part of cooking something like a lasagna.  But I have to say that you will thank me.  If you cut right into it the whole thing will sort of slide apart.  If you let it cool for 15 minutes it will set up nicely and you can cut pieces.  You also won’t burn the roof of your mouth.  Not that I know anything about that first hand ;).

This serves 4-6.  It’s not butternut squash ravioli – it’s a different experience altogether – but it’s a beautiful sweet and salty mixture and it definitely satiates my squash craving!

One Response to “Butternut Squash Lasagna”

  1. liska02 November 19, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    Yes, I have a photo of this recipe. No, I can’t put it up right now. Sadly, my camera seems to have died. Tear! Anyway, it’s an orange and white lasagna. But it’s YUMMY!

Leave a Reply

