Fig and Honey Cakes

30 Sep

The weather today is strange…  It’s alternately pouring rain and thundering incredibly loudly.  Every hour or so the sun will peek out from behind the clouds.  To tell you the truth, I kind of love it! 

I had a ton of plans that got cancelled because of the weather; I really should have been cleaning the house, but I got a brand new box from our CSA and it had figs in it!  FIGS!

I love figs.  I really really love figs.  I actually didn’t try them until I was in my late twenties, and I mostly eat them either by themselves or in savory dishes, like my goat cheese pizza.  But the weather is just perfect for baking.  So instead of doing dishes or laundry (sorry honey!) I mixed up some beautiful fig and honey olive oil cakes.

This was another one of my “throw a bunch of stuff into a bowl and go for it” recipes – I sort of went off of my lemon, brown sugar, and olive oil cupcakes, but to add fig and honey made a big difference in how the cake came together, and I had to be careful not to add too much liquid or sugar.  I think that these cakes came out beautifully and are both tasty and moist.  I had originally intended to frost them with a fig buttercream frosting, but it’s really not necessary – in fact, I think that this cake would perfect topped with just a tiny bit of whipped cream!  Sadly, I didn’t have any whipping cream in my fridge, but just imagine the photo with a dab of whipped cream and a little wedge of fig…  Pretty, right?  You can make this into 18 cupcakes or two 8” cake layers (if you make a layer cake, you could probably make more fig puree and put that inside, and frost the whole thing with whipped cream, or you could just serve wedges of cake with whipped cream).  Enjoy!

Elisa’s Fig and Honey Cakes

  • ¼ pound figs, pureed
  • ½ cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp lemon zest
  • 1 ½ tsp lemon extract
  • ½ tsp almond extract
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • ½ cup milk
  • 2 cups cake flour (or sifted all-purpose flour)

It’s easy-peasy…  Again, throw in the olive oil, honey, sugar, fig puree, zest, extracts, and eggs, stirring them all together until they’re well-blended.  Add in the baking powder, salt, cake flour, and milk, and mix.  Pour into 18 prepared muffin cups or 2 eight-inch prepared cake pans.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes (for small cakes) or 40-45 minutes (for full-sized cakes).

These smell incredible when they’re baking, and taste awesome.  No frosting needed! 🙂  And since they incorporate both honey and olive oil, they’re incredibly moist and tender.

These tasty little cakes would be perfect if you cooked them in beautiful little molds... And they're so yummy!

Leave a Reply

