Just Post Already!!!

26 Sep

I’ve had the busiest two weeks I have had all year.  And if you’ve been around me any time this year you know how busy it’s been.  Which is why the promised garden post is still being promised.  Yup.  I’m lame.

As I said in my last post, I was waiting for news about an opportunity.  The short story is – it came through!  I’m now working part-time at my alma mater, in an absolutely exceptional office, with incredibly awesome coworkers (and I’m most definitely not just saying that!).  I don’t have a ton of responsibilities, since it’s really only a temporary position.  It’s three days a week, which is actually just the right amount right now (I wasn’t looking for part-time work, but now that I’ve got it I’m really truly glad I started back this way, because I’m getting the chance to ease into getting up at 5:30 in the morning and working for eight hours before fighting traffic on the way home).  I am SO very happy about it!

But because of my part-time job, I’ve actually had a LOT less time lately than I had for the last several months.  My “free” days have been busy, taken up with running errands and such, and I’ve actually been making myself MORE busy by taking on PR/event coordination duties for a friend’s fundraiser (ARTBEATS!, for the Children’s Cardio Foundation) and wedding planning/coordination duties for another friend, in addition to my writing (I wrote another story last week and have started doing research into publishers, etc. – and I get to go to my first Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators meeting in two weeks!) and the work I’m doing on my friend’s production company (which, I’m hoping, will launch some time soon).  What can I say?  When it rains, it pours!

I did manage to find time for something this week, though, that I’ve been planning for a while.  My friend’s daughter just turned a year old and her first birthday party was yesterday.  They had a ladybug theme and I wanted to make her a little stuffed bug of her very own.  I’m not a great seamstress and my first attempt turned out looking like a lumpy rectangle with a face, but I decided that this was something I was going to do, whether it looked exactly right or not.  My second attempt was finished Friday night (yes, I know I was cutting it close – it wasn’t for lack of trying to get it done sooner!) and I think it’s pretty cute if I do say so myself!

Leave a Reply

