What a relief!

11 Mar

I’ve been in a ton of pain this week.  Last year I had major issues with stomach acid and had some major recurring pains.  I was really scared that I had a chronic problem but my doctor diagnosed me as just having an overproduction of stomach acid, caused by a pH imbalance.  I had had a bad case of the stomach flu that apparently really messed me up.  I took some acid reducers for a while and stopped having problems every month.

Enter this January, when I got a nasty sinus infection after weeks of fighting the flu.  I called my doctor’s office to get a prescription for an antibiotic.  When I found out that it was something I’d never taken, and had a list of side effects longer than my arm, I was worried.  Of course I argued with my doctor, who told me that this was the one to take for a sinus infection and wouldn’t change the prescription.

Until I called the office three days later.  I was having every side effect known to man.  And none of them good.  I got the prescription changed but the damage was done.  My pH was officially screwed up again.

I’ve had two bouts with this stomach acid thing since mid-January.  It’s the same symptoms as last year, and I’m sure it’s the same problem.  I’ve been downing antacids this week and eating as blandly as possible.  Which is no fun.  And I’m back on the medicine the doctor gave me last year.

I went to the grocery store this morning to get some water and bananas and I really wanted to pick up a pineapple.  I figured it would be too acidic for me so I didn’t pick it up.  Later on in the day, one of my neighbors (the Earth Momma who knows all kinds of natural healing) asked me what was wrong.  When I told her, she actually suggested pineapple, and said it’s got all sorts of digestive healing properties.  I looked it up on the internet, and saw several confirmations, so I went and bought one.

I’m still feeling some acid pressure, but my whole esophagus isn’t burning the way it has been for the last two or three days.  As soon as I got some pineapple down, I felt a definite relief.  I’m still planning on taking my medicine (sigh) but I am feeling better than I have.

Which makes me wonder: did my subconcious know that the pineapple would help?  I rarely buy them, so it was definitely out of the ordinary to want to.  Was this an example of intuitive eating at its core?  Or was it just random?  I’ll probably never know, but I’m sure glad I talked to my neighbor!

4 Responses to “What a relief!”

  1. Danielle March 12, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    Are you eating lots of cucumbers and drinking wheatgrass juice? Those are basic foods and my personal trainer always tried to get me to eat them

  2. liska02 March 12, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    hmmm… no, neither one. I don’t know if I can take wheatgrass juice but I love cucumbers. Good idea!
    Interestingly the pineapple really seems to have made a huge difference. I wish I knew a year ago!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nutella Yogurt « Liska's Blog - January 18, 2011

    […] I’ve told you before about my love of Nutella.  And a loooong time ago I discussed some tummy trouble I’d been having.  I still try to eat yogurt on a regular basis (3-5 times per week) even […]

  2. Going Gluten Free « Liska's Blog - August 7, 2011

    […] been dealing with this on and off for years and had been told by the doctor that it was caused by a pH imbalance.  I even took some medicine for a while.  It just didn’t seem to do a ton of good.  So I […]

Leave a Reply

