Lemon Rosemary Buttered Chicken

27 Aug

I was super excited two nights ago to finally cook dinner, for the first time since July!  I chose a super-easy recipe of mine that always yields great results: Lemon Rosemary Buttered Chicken.  This is a recipe I came up with because we have a gorgeous rosemary bush in the backyard and I had a bunch of lemons two summers ago that I wanted to use in something…  When I first made it, I was cooking it about 3 times a week!  It is sooooo yummy.

Unfortunately, being totally out of practice, I was a leetle too generous with the wine and basically “drowned” the chicken.  I almost didn’t even post it – but since I’d told people I would, I wanted to keep my promise.  Just know that it’s usually a heck of a lot prettier than this, so I’ll update photos when I can! 

Lemon Rosemary Buttered Chicken

  • 1 tbsp plus 1 tsp butter
  • 1/2 large shallot (approx. 2-3 tbsp, chopped); I used an onion because it’s what I had on hand, but shallot honestly tastes better if you can find it)
  • 2 medium/large cloves of garlic, chopped fine
  • 1 large chicken breast, cut into 1/4 inch thick slices
  • splash wine (approx. 2-3 tbsp, no more than 1/4 cup)
  • juice of 1/2 a medium lemon
  • 1 inch sprig of rosemary, stripped and chopped into very small bits (or you can use about 1/2 tsp of dried rosemary)
  • pepper to taste

Lightly sautee shallot in a large frying pan in 1 tbsp butter for approx. 1 minute.  Add garlic and cook for 1-2 minutes or until the shallot is almost tender.  Add the rosemary and half of the lemon juice and cook another 30 seconds.  Add the chicken to the pan and cook until the edges turn white (don’t overcrowd the pan!).  Flip chicken pieces and cook for another minute.  Add wine to the pan (just enough to coat the bottom of the pan).  Cook on low 3-5 minutes or until cooked through.  Add the rest of the lemon juice and the remaining tsp of butter and stir until well-coated.

Serve over cooked Israeli or pearl couscous or orzo pasta (I like the Israeli couscous because it has a nice toasty flavor) with a sprinkling of parmesan cheese.

I wish it looked nicer but it's soooo good!!!

I wish it looked nicer but it's soooo good!!!

Leave a Reply

