Microwaved Eggs

21 Aug

I am not a huge fan of using the microwave for anything except reheating leftovers.  Don’t get me wrong – I have one and I use it – but it’s just not a part of my “normal” cooking routine.  Of course, since my “normal” routine for literally everything has been severely disrupted this month (as is probably obvious by my lack of posting, among other cues), I don’t have time to be too choosy.

This morning I realized that I needed to start the day off with some protein.  With all the work hours lately I have been just not eating right – and for a hypoclycemic, eating a lot of not-so-healthy-for-you food can seriously disrupt your blood sugar.  The last few days I’ve had blood sugar spikes and dips, a whole lot of fatigue, upset stomach, indigestion, headache, etc., etc.  I’m convinced that it has to do with several factors – sheer number of hours that I spend “on” (in addition, often times, to the number of hours I’m actually doing something), a large amount of work-related stress, lack of restorative sleep (I’m sleeping – but when you wake up more tired than you were when you went to bed, it’s not very good sleep), house-hunting stress, not eating right, drinking too much caffeine, not exercising (I’m doing as much as I can – and in fact I specifically spent 20 minutes yesterday doing nothing but walking during lunchtime…  it’s just not enough).  The list goes on.

Anyway, I wasn’t actually posting to rail about my stress levels or my eating habits of late.  I was posting to share a discovery.  I’m probably the last person on the planet to try this, but I thought it was cool nonetheless.

Since I was in need of protein this morning, in no mood for animal protein (my stomach in the morning at the best of times is never particularly able to digest animal protein), and without the basic pans needed to cook an egg (I actually got home before dark last night and my hubby actually made me dinner, but used every skillet in the process), I decided to get creative.  I googled steamed eggs first – but the recipes were mostly Asian-style lunch dishes.  So I tried “microwave egg”.  Voila!

The basic recipe is to mix up an egg with a little bit of liquid (my recipe said 1 tbsp but I think I’d add no more than a teaspoon since mine was a little runny), stick it in the microwave, and eat it.  Seriously, that’s it.  The recipe I read said to cook the egg on 50% power for 1 1/2 to 2 minutes; I ended up cooking mine for about 2 1/2.

It looks unassuming, but this is a great way to cook an egg!

It looks unassuming, but this is a great way to cook an egg!

The texture is light and fluffy and not a bit stuck to the bottom of the ramekin.  I was pleasantly surprised at the result – I just think that next time I’d add a little cheese, since cooking the egg in the microwave means that there isn’t even the flavor of just cooking in a pan (so it was a little bland).  Even so, I feel like this is a pretty awesome discovery – no pan required.

2 Responses to “Microwaved Eggs”

  1. spontaneoustruth August 27, 2009 at 6:33 am #

    I love the micro-egg trick for a quick breakfast! I crack an egg into a mug, whisk it up, cover it, and nuke it for about a minute. Perfect! I usually stick it on an English muffin or slice of bread, sometimes with a turkey slice or cheese or salsa. Mmmm.

    Btw, they also make microwaveable egg poachers for exactly this reason. My old roomie had one and used it all the time to great effect. I know they sell them at BBB for just a couple bucks.

  2. liska02 August 27, 2009 at 9:36 am #

    YUMMY! I probably need to pick one of those up too… 🙂 I almost did one of these for breakfast this morning and then was running late, but it’s SUCH a nice little thing to have in my back pocket now 😉

Leave a Reply

