Another Random Smile

17 Feb

I know I’ve been a bad blogger lately… Busy, busy, busy. Still cleaning up the mess our appliance troubles made and still without a working heater! Anyway, I’m going to do my best to start writing more often…

Today’s post is a short one, and prompted by my lunchtime walk to get lunch. As I was walking by, I heard an older woman say to a man on the sidewalk that he was such a good father. I’d noticed him, too, patiently cleaning up after sharing a frozen yogurt with an adorable two-year-old little girl. She was about four steps away, standing and watching him intently. He was talking to her very gently.

In response to the woman, he said “Oh, I’m not her dad; I’m her uncle. Her dad’s in Brooks Brothers and her mom’s in a children’s store around the corner.” The lady said something else to him that I couldn’t here, and then the uncle responded with “She’s such a fantastic kid! I just love taking care of her! And I’m getting married on Friday, so, hopefully…”

It just made me melt. And reminded me that despite the fact that so many guys out there are complete jerks, there are good men out there. It made me smile!

Leave a Reply

