A Simple Joy

16 Jan

I just had to describe the beautiful but brief joy I felt when I happened upon a family walking down the street – a mom, a grandpa, and a little girl who couldn’t have been older than three.

I was passing the drugstore here in downtown La Jolla at lunchtime; outside was a four-foot cardboard advertisement for Dreyer’s ice cream.  As I walked past, the mother was telling the grandpa that she’d take care of something inside while he watched the little one.  Her daughter broke away from them and ran toward the advertisement, skidding to a stop in front of the ice cream bar that was taller than she was.

She stared for a minute, considering.  Then, as I came up next to her, I watched her embrace the cardboard ice cream bar and take a lick.  Her head cocked to the side with obvious confusion as to why she didn’t taste chocolate, and I couldn’t help but giggle.

How beautiful a simple thing like that can be; I wished I’d had a camera with me to capture the sweet innocence of the moment!

Leave a Reply

